davidgoldmanphoto

A man of his word

In Documentary work, Portraits on November 4, 2010 at 4:39 pm

What are we if not men of our words?. I know I always try to be a man of my word. If I say it I try hard as hell to do it. Bob Simon of 60 Minutes is a man of his word. First off he said he would allow me to a photograph of him when I met him in late spring of 2010 and good to his word he did.  Of course one portrait is never enough for me so I asked if he could get me to anyone else at 60 Min, namely Morley Safer. A few weeks ago I received an email from Bob that said Morley was game. Wow I was so happy. I wanted to be cool and not call right away and look too eager, I dutifully waited 5 minutes then called. His assistant answered and after I introduced myself and told her that Bob gave me the number she passed me right to Morley. Next thing I know I’m talking to Morley Safer and man does he sound like Morley Safer from 60 Min. I explained what I wanted to do and we agreed on a date. Simple and straight to the point. The following week I show up to the 60 Min office with my gear and some great help from Diego. Unfortunately the room that I had used to photograph Bob was not available. I was a bit worried but after having a look at Morley’s office it was very clear to me that the office was much better then the unavailable room. Morley is from Toronto like me so we spoke of our home town and what we thought about some of the architecture in the city. Then I did some portraits in the hallway. I think we had it all done in about 40 min including lighting two sets and tearing it all down. I’m hoping to get to some other people and with Morley’s help I may just be able to do that. Here are a few of the shots.

Leave a comment